Port of Spain, Trinidad. A ceremonial sitting of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) in St.
Vincent and the Grenadines will be the final in a series of events commemorating the Honourable
Mr. Justice Adrian Saunders’ elevation to the office of CCJ President. The event will be held at
the House of Assembly in Kingstown at 1 pm (AST), on Friday 20 July 2018, in Mr. Justice
Saunders’ home country. This event will be broadcast live on the internet on the CCJ’s website at

The CCJ President stated, “it is with much anticipation that I return to my home country to preside
at this first sitting of the CCJ in St Vincent and the Grenadines. While I am a son of St. Vincent
and the Grenadines, I have become a true Caribbean man, living in so many of our nations and
working for over two decades in service to the region. However, it is always a distinct pleasure to
be recognized in the place that is your first home”.

Judge of the CCJ, the Honourable Mr. Justice David Hayton will moderate the event, as well as,
make his own remarks. The Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr. the Honourable
Ralph Gonsalves, MP, will head the list of speakers who will pay tribute to Mr. Justice Saunders.
Other speakers include the Honourable Mme. Justice Dame Janice Pereira, DBE, Chief Justice,
The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court; the Honourable Mr. Jaundy Martin, Attorney General, St.
Vincent and the Grenadines; the Honourable Mr. Jomo Thomas, Speaker of the House, St. Vincent
and the Grenadines and Mr. Reginald Armour, SC, Chairman of the Council of Legal Education,
will make his presentation by video.

Those speakers will be joined by Ms. Jennifer Astaphan SAH, LLM, Deputy Chairman of the
Regional Judicial and Legal Services Commission; Mr. Ruggles Ferguson, President of the
Organization of Commonwealth Caribbean Bar Associations; the Honourable Ms. Rene Baptiste,

CMG, the President of the Bar Association of St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Mr. Parnel
Campbell, QC, Attorney-at-Law at PR Campbell & Company; Senator the Honourable Kay
Bacchus-Baptiste, Attorney-at-Law at Kay Bacchus-Baptiste Chambers; Mr. Sebastian Alexander,
Director of Interactive Media and Mr. Stephen Mc A. Huggins, founding Partner of Saunders and
Huggins. The CCJ President response will conclude the ceremonial sitting.
Additional information on the event, including the link to the live broadcast, is available on the
Court’s website at