Development Control and Planning (Amendment) Bill, 2018

No.      of 2018                        Development Control and Planning          Saint Christopher

(Amendment) Bill, 2018                            and Nevis





No.         of 2018


A BILL to amend the Development Control and Planning Act, Cap. 20.07.


BE IT ENACTED by the Queen’s Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the National Assembly of Saint Christopher and Nevis and by the authority of the same as follows:


  1. Short title.

This Act may be cited as the Development Control and Planning (Amendment) Act, 2018.


  1. Interpretation.

In this Act,

“Act” means the Development Control and Planning Act, Cap. 20.07.


  1. Amendment of First Schedule.

The Act is amended in the First Schedule by replacing section 1 subsection (1) with the following new subsection


“1 (1) The Board shall consist of thirteen members appointed by the Minister


  • of whom the following persons shall be ex-officio members:


(i)       the Director of Physical Planning or the Chief Physical         Planner;

(ii)      the Chief Environmental Health Officer or his          representative;

(iii)     the Chief Technical Officer/Director of Lands and Surveys;

(iv)     the Director of Public Works Department or his        representative;

(v)      the Director of Environment or Senior Officer Responsible for Environment;

(vi)     Manager of Water Department or a Water Engineer

              (vii)    the General Manager St Kitts Electricity Corporation or his representative

(viii)   the Commissioner of Police or his representative, and

(ix)     the Chief Fire Officer or his representative



  • four members shall be persons not in the public service who shall be appointed from among persons who have knowledge and                                  experience in:


(i)       commerce and industry;

(ii)      economic and financial matters;

(iii)     legal matters;

(iv)     any other area of public interest that the Minister considers relevant to physical planning.”.











Passed by the National Assembly this                day of                             , 2018.








                                                                               Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

Share via: