Ministry of Education Primary Schools Independence Elocution Competition

The zonal eliminations have been completed for the the Independence Elocution Competition:
The event was opened to all government owned primary schools on St. Kitts.
The zonal eliminations were held last Friday, 13th October:
1. Basseterre Zone – at the Tucker Clarke Primary School
2. East Zone- at the Cayon Primary School
3. West Zone – at the St. Paul’s Primary School.
Advancing to the finals are first and second place winners in each zone:
1. Basseterre Zone: 1st was Deane Glasford Primary and 2nd was Beach Allen Primary
2. East Zone: 1st was Joshua Obadiah Williams Primary and 2nd was Saddlers Primary
3. West Zone: 1st was Tyrell Williams Primary and 2nd was Sandy Point Primary
The finals will be held on Friday, 20th October, 2017 at 7p.m. at the Calvary Baptist Tabernacle, Romney Ground, Sandy Point. The Church is opposite the entrance to Brimstone Hill.
The poem being delivered is ” Creative, Industrious Youth” by Sanjay Caines ( a local poet who is also an IT technician in the Mo E. The poem can be found on page 37 of his book, “Life’s Questions – Come to my homeland”.)
This event will be open to the general public.