BASSETERRE, St. Kitts, February 6, 2017 (Press Unit in the Office of the Prime Minister) – A handful of officers attached to the Nevis Division of the Royal St. Christopher and Nevis Police Force (RSCNPF) was on Saturday, 4th March, recognized for their commitment, bravery and dedication to protect and serve the people St. Kitts and Nevis.

This was done at the 14th annual Constables’ Awards Ceremony and Dinner held at the Occasions Entertainment Arcade located at Pinney’s Industrial Site, Nevis.

The highest honour of the night was bestowed upon No. 748 Kerran Nicholas of the Task Force who was the named the Nevis Division of the Royal St. Christopher and Nevis Police Force 2016 Constable of the Year.

First runner-up honours went to Constable Keith Pemberton while Constable Shayne James finished second runner-up in the vote for Constable of the Year.

In addressing the gathering, Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris said it is important to take time every year to “recognize outstanding performances by our police officers, and in particular our constables who are at the forefront, the first responders if you will to public safety and security.”

He added, “It is a very difficult job being a police officer, and sometimes it’s an under-appreciated job. When officers go above and beyond the call of duty, it’s incumbent on us to recognize them. And so tonight’s ceremony is an important and positive event for law enforcement. It is a chance to honour officers for what they do, year-in and year-out, much of which happens behind the scenes and people might not be aware.”

Dr. Harris, who also serves as Minister of National Security, challenged all police officers to handle themselves with professionalism and to do their jobs with dedication, noting that the Team Unity Administration will continue to support their efforts through the sourcing of necessary equipment.

“The government has invested and will continue to invest heavily in your training to provide you with the skills and competencies necessary to do your jobs,” the prime minister stated.“We continue to provide resources to facilitate the acquisition of state-of-the – art equipment and to ensure that the police can successfully challenge the gang elements in our country and win every confrontation.”

Also in attendance at Saturday night’s awards ceremony were Premier of Nevis and Senior Minister, the Honourable Vance Amory, Commissioner of Police, Ian Queeley and other members of the police force’s High Command.

Constable of the Year awards
Constable of the Year awards
Constable of the Year awards ceremony
Constable of the Year awards ceremony