Basseterre, St. Kitts, October 21, 2016 (SKNIS): The sponsors of the 13th Annual Help A Child Programme were thanked by the St. Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister, Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris, for partnering in an initiative, which he said, will positively improve the lives of others.

This year’s award programme saw 60 students from the Joshua O. Williams, Edgar T. Morris, Violet Petty and Estridge Primary Schools share $30,000 to be used to aid their studies. The awardees were selected by their respective school based on their performance in class work.

At the ceremony on Wednesday (October 20) at the Estridge Moravian Church in Mansion, Prime Minister Harris stated that the sponsors willingly contributed because they had the vision to recognize the potential impact of their support on the children, the nation and world as a whole. “Without them the awards would not be possible,” he stated.

A number of companies and individuals were identified for their contributions. These included Rubina Nisbett, Othneil Hyliger, Anthony Gonslaves, Shawna Lake, Nicholas Brisbane, Burnell Nisbett, Dr. Winston Isaac and Brian Kassab. The private companies were identified as Delta Petroleum, St. Kitts Scenic Railway, Kajola Kristada, Stone Deals, The Cable, St. Kitts Biomedical Research Foundation, Sun Island Clothing, Behavioural Science Foundation, Delisle Walwyn, Island Bakeries, Premier Dental, Shoreline Plaza, Island Auto Service, Cable and Wireless – Flow, Ottleys Plantation, Rituals, the Range Development Ltd., and S. L. Horsfords and Company Ltd.

Dr. Harris said that education represents an investment in the future. “It is the investment we make as individuals for our betterment and progression in life and it is also the investment we make in our society,” he stated. “And that is why these awards are so important. Through them we are making an investment in our nation’s future.”

The awardees were Ajani McFarlane, Asann Clarke, Ayana Tyson, Brian Browne, Callie Morris, Cleavonjah Chumney, Clivern O’Flaherty, Colis Duke, Crystal Watson, Dakarie Morris, Dakota Williams, Dave Cannonier, Delian Greene, Demario Willett, Derrica Gilbert, Deshaundre Hull, Ezekiel Richardson, Gnema Williams, Idajae Darlington, and Jabari Phipps. Also awarded were Jahveeq Davis, Javier Jones, Jayden Thomas, Jayden Warner, Jayden Woodley, Jeromie Thomas, Joseph Welcome, Josiah Davis, Jovanique Paul, J’quincia Prentice, Kelvaughn Isaac, Kemenl French, Kervin Fahie, Kia Stapleton, Kristal Duncan, Kvonte Phipps, Lakuance Davis, Lavonna Boddie, Makelcia Gardener and McKayla Huggins. Awards were also presented to Murluska Davis, Nahamani Carey, Nieme Browne, Rickiesia Salters, Rosalio Allen, Shakiera Patrick, Shanequa Hazel, Shariah Charles, Shasann Richardson, Stevenicia Carey, Stevon Benjamin, Tajonne Charles, Tariq Sargeant, T’Caldo Thomas, Tiquan Thompson, Travis Watson, Tyler Phillip, Viquone Connor, V’nahje Matthew, Zashanique Whyte.

“When we enable someone else to learn, we enable our society to grow,” Prime Minister Harris stated. “When we have the patience to coach and nurture, we are like the farmer tending his/her crops waiting for them to withstand the elements so that they thrive and they blossom. Our children are like this. They need us to invest in them to nurture and encourage their love of education so that they can enjoy the privilege of scholarship awards … but also so that they can feel personal pride in their own achievements.”

Dr. Harris encouraged the students to use the award as a stepping stone to maintain their grades and to go on to achieve loftier goals.